How Long Have You Been Listening?

7 posts in this topic

Just wondered where we're all at with our Radio 1 listening career and how it started. 

I'm 19 so I've got a while to go until I'm too old, and I've been listening since 2009. Radio 1 was always on in the barber shop I used to go to, and when I got given a radio in my bedroom Radio 1 was the only station I knew that played chart music. The rest is history. I started listening at around the same time they were experimenting with live streams of The Chris Moyles Show so that probably played a part in my transformation to radio nerd. 

Anyone else?

I never really listened solidly to Moyles, I remember hearing in the news when he was doing that world record show, and Fearne Cotton agreed to do the livestream in a swimsuit and the Radio 1 website crashed...

I first started listening one summer in 2012, when Sara Cox was covering Fearne's show, and gradually listened to the other shows at uni, and got hooked on the podcasts for train journeys home and back! Scott and Greg made me the radio nerd! I feel like I definitely missed on some excellent years of Scott's though! Listened from the Pippa and Travis years of Greg, though!